HomeAcademic ProgramsLejeune Leadership InstituteMarine Corps Civilian Leadership Development ProgramCivilian Leadership TiersTier 4

Tier 4

Centrally Managed Civilian Leadership Courses (CMCLC) provide competitive leadership development opportunities for Civilian Marines GS-4 through GS-15 or equivalents.  Lejeune Leadership Institute (LLI) solicits applications from aspiring leaders through installation Human Resources Development Strategic Advisors (HRDSA).  Your HRDSA's will accept, review and endorse your application before routing through the  Chain-of-Command.  Once endorsed by your command, the HRDSA will submit applications to the LLI, where a board will evaluate and make final selections.

To apply for CMCLC, civilian employees must are encouraged, but not required to complete the Leadership Essentials curriculum in Tier 1 consisting of:

  • Motivating Employees
  • Communicating Vision
  • Building Your Influence as a Leader
  • Leading with Emotional Intelligence
  • Leading Business Execution
  • Leading Innovation
  • Leading Change
  • Creating Your Own Leadership Development Plan 


Below are eleven CMCLC you may apply for based on your grade level:

  • Aspiring Leader Program (ALP) - GS-4 to GS-6,
  • New Leader Program (NLP) - GS-7 to GS-11,
  • Defense Civilian Emerging Leader Program (DCELP) - GS-7 to GS-12
  • Executive Leadership Program (ELP) - GS-11 to GS-13,
  • Executive Potential Program (EPP) - GS-13 to GS-15,
  • DoD Executive Leadership Development Program (ELDP) - GS-12 to GS-14,
  • Capital Hill Fellowship Program - GS-13 to GS-15,
  • Defense Senior Leader Development Program (DSLDP) - GS-14 to GS-15,
  • The Eisenhower School (ES) - GS 14 to GS-15,
  • Federal Executive Institute (FEI) - GS-15, (GS-14 can request a grade waiver if they have executive level duties)
  • Seminar XXI - GS-15